Dairy Promotion and Research Board Appointments Made by USDA

Dairy Promotion and Research Board Appointments Made by USDA

Thirteen people were appointed to the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board by Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue on Dec. 22. Of the appointees 12 were dairy producers and another is an importer. They will begin serving three-year terms immediately that end on Oct. 31, 2020.

“These appointees will be valuable assets for the National Dairy Board as it carries out its coordinated program of promotion designed to strengthen the dairy industry’s position in the marketplace and to maintain and expand domestic and international markets for dairy products.  They represent a cross section of the dairy industry and I know that it will be well served by them,” Perdue says.

The producers appointed include:

Region 1 (Alaska, Oregon, and Washington)

  • Dolores J. Werkhoven, Monroe, Wash.

Region 4 (Arkansas, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas)

  • Orville D. Miller, Hutchinson, Kan.

Region 6 (Wisconsin)

  • Stacy Eberle, Monroe, Wis.
  • Becky L. Levzow, Rio, Wis.

Region 7 (Illinois, Iowa, Missouri, and Nebraska)

  • Alex D. Peterson, Trenton, Mo.

Region 9 (Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and West Virginia)

  • Gregory A. Gibson, Bruceton Mills, W.Va.

Region 10 (Alabama, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia)

  • John M. Larson, Okeechobee, Fla.

Region 12 (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont)

  • Melissa C. Dziurgot, Durham, Conn.


Reappointed Producers are:

Region 3 (Arizona, Colorado, Montana, Nevada, Utah, and Wyoming)

  • James E. Webb, Delta, Colo.

Region 4 (Arkansas, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas)

  • William R. Anglin, Bentonville, Ark.

Region 5 (Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota)

  • Kathleen A. Skiba, North Branch, Minn.

Region 8 (Idaho)

  • John S. Ballard, Gooding, Idaho


Newly appointed Dairy Importer:

  • Ralph B. Hofman, Basking Ridge, N.J.


The 37 member board was established by USDA under the Dairy Production Stabilization Act of 1983.


Wyatt Bechtel
Sat, 12/23/2017 – 00:16


News Article

Source: Dairy Herd